9 police surrender, 7 Taliban killed in Zabul

Nine policemen defected to the Taliban along with their weapons and seven insurgents were killed separately but near simultaneously in southern Zabul province, officials on Saturday.

A security source told Pajhwok Afghan News the nine policemen surrendered to Taliban in Arghandab district on Friday night.

The Taliban confirmed the issue. Taliban spokesman QariYousufAhmadi said, 10 government soldiers surrendered with 27 weapons on Friday night.

The seven armed Taliban were killed and five others wounded during a clash with government forces in the Shajoi district on Friday night, said military official Sayed Baba Mansoori.

The Taliban have said nothing about the clash.